My 6 favourite things to do on the Sunshine Coast!

I don’t know about you but I love adventures, discovering new places, and being outdoors. If you’ve read my bio then you’ll already know that I live on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland, Australia. But what you won’t know is that I was born and raised here and have never lived anywhere else. I have always loved it here and being so close to the beach HOWEVER being in one place all your life can get boring. I’m always on a mission to seek new adventures and discover new places in my home town. So I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite things to do and places to go on the sunshine coast, and maybe even inspire you to seek new adventures in your home town.

Hell’s Gates 

The fist thing people associate with the sunshine coast is its beautiful beach’s. There’s no denying it, the sunshine coast has some of Australia’s most incredible beaches. My favourite beach is definitely Noosa beach. It stretches on for ages with the main beach populated by hordes of touristes and then those spots that only the locals know about (these are definitely the best). My absolute favourite part of Noosa beach is the National Park walk that stretches along the rocky ocean coast line. Right at the end of the walk is HELL’s GATES (that’s literally what it’s called, I’m not just tying to sound dramatic).  Basically it’s the furthest point of Noosa’s coast line with gorgeous 360° views of the ocean. This is my all time favourite running route (not that I run all that often). The view at the end makes it all worth it and keeps me motivated (most of the time). It’s also a great way to catch up with a friend because if your anything like me and you like to talk, then you’ve got a 3.5km round trip to do just that.  It’s just one of those places that no matter how many times I go there I never get tired of it.

Rollerblading

This is definitely one of my favourite hobbies! It’s kind of my thing, just ask anyone of my friends. I grew up rollerblading with my brothers as a child but eventually grew out of them. I stumbled across some roller-blades at a garage sale a few years ago that actually fit me and have been back at it ever since. Now if there is one place that is good for rollerblading on the Sunshine Coast it’s Cotton Tree. It’s full of wide smooth pathways beside the beach and most importantly it’s all flat! Being a child from the 90’s I guess rollerblading is in my blood but that doesn’t fix the fact that I still don’t know how to break! Which definitely becomes an issue when it involves even the slightest of slopes.  At least cotton tree has lots of light poles which make for excellent stopping points (the kind that you run into and hold onto for dear life). So if you’re looking for something different to try on the sunshine coast (or anywhere for that matter) why not grab a pair of roller-blades and head on down to Cotton Tree and give it a whirl. Just a heads up you may find you get some funny stares from people or the occasional parent pointing at you telling their child that they used to do that when they were their age. My advice, just own it and bring back the blades!

Gardeners Falls

As much as I love the beach I also love discovering new waterfalls and waterholes around the Sunshine Coast hinterland. My favouite is Gardeners Falls in Maleny. It’s a great place to spend a hot summers day with a group of friends. Though it is often packed on weekends and holidays so I recommend going midweek if you’re after a relaxing outing. Pack a picnic and bags a nice shady spot under a big tree and just relax or take a dip in the waterfall. If adrenaline is what you’re after then take the plunge from the rope swing (though I can’t say this is my cup of tea, I’d rather leave in one piece).

Mt Coolum

When I’m after a bit more of a workout than a leisurely beach stroll, then Mt Coolum is my go to. It’s a killer on the glutes with a number of steep steps but the view at the top (particularly at sunset) is well worth the pain! If you’re a local and thinking ‘been there done that’ then why not get up early and watch the sunrise from the top for something different.

Sunset Picnics

My absolute favourite part of the day has got to be sunset. It’s not called the golden hour for nothing! If you haven’t already guessed it I like going on picnics and there is no better time for a picnic then at sunset. There are few things I enjoy more in this world than watching a beautiful sunset with a bottle of cider and some cheese and crackers….oh and good company of course. I have a collection of my favourite ‘secret’ picnic spots but my absolute favourite is in Sunshine Coast hinterland and has the most incredible view!

Strawberry Picking

My friends and I go strawberry picking every once in a while and it honestly is so fun! There is something so nice about picking your own strawberries. Skipping up and down the lanes picking the biggest, juiciest strawberries and filling up your punnet to overflowing! But let’s be honest the best part is eating them, so we like to make a day of it and go for a picnic afterwards. If you live on the Sunshine Coast then go check out Palmview’s Strawberry Fields Forever. As far as strawberry fields are considered this is definitely my favourite and they even have a really cute cafe with the greatest homemade strawberry ice-cream!

<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18786369/?claim=gzmwag3c9ux”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

 

Leave a Reply

