Post Europe Detox

After spending two incredible months traveling Europe and the UK I can unashamedly say that I ate plenty of good food and as a result may have put on a kilo or two. I mean it’s not everyday you get to eat croissants in Paris, or giant pretzels in Germany, or homemade pasta in Italy (well, unless you are lucky enough to live there of course). “This is a once in a life time experience”, “diets don’t exists on holidays” or “I’ll detox when I get home”………were just some of the phrases I used where food was concerned, whilst on my travels. And I have no regrets! BUT….now that I’m back it’s time to get stuck into that detox! I think the hardest thing for me when I’m on a detox or just trying to eat super healthy is that I have to stop myself from baking anything sweet! It’s torture!  So lately I’ve tried to channel my creativity into making healthy meals and snacks So here’s a few ideas that I came up with to make healthy eating exciting:

Breakfast

Booster Breaky Bowel 

1/2 cup of untoasted granola
1/2 cup of blueberries
Some strawberries chopped
1 banana sliced
1 tablespoon of chia seeds
Some coursely chopped walnuts
Some slithered almonds
Greek yogurt
Honey and cinnamon to top

gwnsgnsafqm-brooke-lark88hxlwf6uhe-freestocks-org

Place all the ingredients in a bowl and top with greek yogurt, drizzle with honey and finish off with a dusting of cinnamon! 

Snack

Watermelon Popsicles 

Cut up a watermelon into 2cm thick triangles and insert a paddle pop stick or cake pop stick into the skin. Place watermelon in the freezer. Once frozen these make a delicious, refreshing and not to mention healthy summer treat!

Let me know if you enjoyed these as much as I did!

Drink

Summer Fruits Ice-tea

2x summer fruits herbal tea bags 1/2 a lemon 1 orange A handful of grapes Mint leaves Ice cubes Fresh ginger, crushed

Brew the 2 tea bags in 1/2 cup of boiled water and leave for 4 minutes. Once brewed remove tea bags and add a heap of ice cubs to the tea to cool it down, plus 1 cup of cold water. Add a few mint leaves, crushed ginger, the juice of 1/2 a lemon, and the juice of 1/2 an orange. Chop up the other half of the orange and cut grapes in half and place in the ice-tea. Mix the tea and leave in the fridge over night. Relax and enjoy this refreshing ice tea on a warm summers afternoon!

Hopefully this has given you some inspiration for healthy eating! Be creative and see what healthy snakes and meals you can come up with.

Leave a Reply

